They have shared hosting plans, reseller plans, and WordPress hosting plans. Their support is available 24/7/365 and very responsive. What we really liked about GreenGeeks is the default list of free features you get with every hosting plan. Everything from a free domain name, free SSL, free website migration, free CDN integration, to super fast SSD storage, and an impressive security system to keep everything running smooth! 

The article doesn’t list geographical location of the server as one of the consideration one should consider when choosing a hosting company. Isn’t geographical proximity, between the hosting server and the targeted population of the website, one of the parameters that Google’s algorithm uses when ranking a website? E.g. If I my website is in German and is targeting German people, wouldn’t it be better to host it in a server in Germany (ignoring, for the sake of this question, the issue of speed)?
Yes, you can type “free website hosting” into a search engine of your choice, and you will get results. Don’t do it. At best, you will be stuck with shoddy service, semi-reliable uptime, and ridiculously short-lived storage and bandwidth capacities. The free options out there will frustrate you, and putting yourself through that makes zero sense when you can have quality hosting for as little as $2 a month.

At IONOS, we always strive to offer our products at competitive price levels - for all customers. However, due to the sheer size of our product portfolio, we cannot guarantee to have the best price available for all products, all the time. Instead, we focus on a selected range of domain extensions which are frequently sought after by our customers, such as a .com, and provide those domain names to you using a very aggressive price point.
They have Optimized Stacks with Advanced Cache such as Memcached, Carnish, and Redis for expedited responses. Fast hosting speeds for WordPress and Magento is also available because of its Breeze cache and Full Page cache, respectively. Also, they currently have 60 data centers around the world which you can choose from. More importantly, they have a data center in Toronto, Canada allowing you to pinpoint the Canadian target market and give them fast loading speeds.
This hosting type gives you access to a Virtual Private Server. VPS hosting has a lot in common with shared hosting but comes with fewer limitations and more freedom when it comes to their server space. The perfect middle point between the cheap shared hosting, and expensive dedicated server hosting, VPS hosting gives you a portion of a server space separated from the rest of the server space that other users will be using, so you can use your server space unaffected by other users’ websites. An affordable web hosting solution that gives more flexibility than shared hosting, VPS hosting is a popular option for web hosting in Canada.
When it comes to resources, the company stated that they supply more than enough CPU and RAM to please the “average” web hosting customer. A high level of performance is seen by customers since they avoid overselling any single’s services. Free Cloudflare CDN, LiteSpeed or MariaDB servers, and other caching features are not advertised in their website.
They also use solid-state drives (SSDs) for faster page loading speeds as opposed to traditional hard drives. Optimized LiteSpeed web servers are used for faster loading speeds. Compared to NGINX and Apache, LiteSpeed is 2x to 5x faster. For additional power in terms of page loading speeds, GreenGeeks implemented a proprietary caching technology called PowerCacher. This exclusive feature gives you fast application loading times for enhanced user experience.
With .com domain names starting from $9.99/year, Domain.com offers the cheapest domain names registration service. They are one of the popular choice for domain registration. With .mobi domains at $2.99/year to .net and .org priced at $8.99/year Domain.com is one of the best value for money domain registrars. Domain.com has a lot to offer given its low price. At this moment, Domain.com offers following payment option: PayPal, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express.
They have Optimized Stacks with Advanced Cache such as Memcached, Carnish, and Redis for expedited responses. Fast hosting speeds for WordPress and Magento is also available because of its Breeze cache and Full Page cache, respectively. Also, they currently have 60 data centers around the world which you can choose from. More importantly, they have a data center in Toronto, Canada allowing you to pinpoint the Canadian target market and give them fast loading speeds.
WordPress.org references the open-source (free) software that can be downloaded and installed pretty easily, particularly if you have a web host that makes this process a breeze. Self-hosted WordPress allows you to capitalize on the robust offerings of the established content management system, plus the potential for more features, such as a free domain, unlimited email accounts, marketing credits, and expert support).
For more business-oriented customers, it offers a full range of VPS and cloud hosting, along with serious Java Tomcat hosting, including shared and private JVMs, as well as Java VPS offerings. With a company named MochaHost, you'd expect some quality Java support and it has it. So brew yourself a cuppa, open a browser window and give MochaHost a spin. You have half a year to make up your mind, so if it turns out MochaHost really isn't your cup of tea, it'll understand.

When you build a website, you want visitors to come and see what you've done. To get them there, you need a unique domain name that connects to your sites servers. Domain name registration is required to ensure that no one else in the world can claim ownership of your web site's address and to make finding your website simple. Find your one of a kind domain name.
You can always count on GoDaddy to offer competitive pricing on domain names and all of our other services. We set the standard when it came to establishing rock-bottom prices for domain names and making it affordable for more people to get online. We STILL lead the industry when it comes to helping people build an online presence, and we will always strive to provide our customers with the best possible prices.
Ultimately, it is used to decrease hardware costs by condensing a failover cluster to a single machine. Thus decreasing costs dramatically while providing the same services. Server roles and features are generally designed to operate in isolation. For example, Windows Server 2019 requires a certificate authority and a domain controller to exist on independent servers with independent instances of windows server. This is because additional roles and features adds areas of potential failure as well as adding visible security risks (placing a certificate authority on a domain controller poses the potential for root access to the root certificate). This directly motivates demand for virtual private servers in order to retain conflicting server roles and features on a single hosting machine. Also, the advent of virtual machine encrypted networks decreases pass-through risks that might have otherwise discouraged VPS usage as a legitimate hosting server.
Shared WordPress Hosting: The tried-and-true traditional hosting option that many website owners start with. Because it's the most affordable way to get all the basics for your WordPress website, it's perfect if you're new to WordPress. This beginner-friendly plan is a simple and low-cost option that can get you on your feet before you're ready to upgrade.

SSL stands for Secure Socket Layer, it’s the “s” in https, also visible through the padlock in most modern browsers, showing that the site you’re visiting is secure. SSL certificates are used to encrypt the transfer of data between your site and the visitors. At the time of typing this, having an SSL certificate is an absolute must for every website (not just e-commerce shops). It makes browsers trust your site, making it more likely to purchase something if that’s the goal of your site. A good Canadian web host should offer free SSL certificates. In fact, the moment we see a hosting provider that charges money for a basic SSL certificate, their overall score takes a massive dive. There are different types of SSL certificates too, like Extended Validation (EV SSL), Organization Validated (OV SSL) and Domain Validated (DV SSL). DV SSL is the basic version.
The WHOIS domain database is a listing of all registered domains, and is regularly used for various legal purposes. Network administrators use WHOIS data to identify and fix problems. For instance, WHOIS information can be used to determine the availability of domain names, identify trademark infringement, and keep domain name registrants accountable. 

Welcome to the CNET 2020 directory of web hosting services. In this directory, we'll look at a few of the best web hosting providers like Bluehost, A2Hosting, Hostinger, DreamHost, HostGator, InMotion Hosting and more. In this evaluation of the best web hosting providers, we're featuring commercial web hosting companies that offer WordPress, VPS, shared hosting and many more web hosting services, along with a variety of annual and monthly plans.     
The best web hosts on the market include these web builders in their service offerings. Some include popular existing site builders like Weebly, while other hosting teams have engineered their own platforms for website design and development. For example, 1&1 has 1&1 MyWebsite, and InMotion’s BoldGrid sits atop WordPress for a more intuitive experience, whether you’re building your first site or your fourteenth.
BigCommerce is a bit different from our other hosting plans in that it's a SaaS (software-as-a-service) provider instead of an IaaS (infrastructure-as-a-service) provider. In other words, rather than renting space on a virtual machine where you setup and configure your own site, BigCommerce provides you with an app you login to that creates and online store. 
Their pricing starts from $2.75/mo which allows you to sign up for 36 months. The renewal price (after your initial period) is $7.99/mo. But this is very common in the hosting market, and almost all popular hosting providers are using it. If you opt to choose them, make sure you take their hosting plan for the longest period; this helps you to save some money. If you are not satisfied with their service, they offer a hassle-free 30-day money-back guarantee.
In terms of what many vendors call unlimited service, Web Hosting Pad's terms of service indicate that its definition of unlimited is what it calls "incremental." Basically, as you need more capability, it wants to discuss that with you, both to help you get the most out of its services, and to make sure you're using its systems without abusing them.
When you build a website, you want visitors to come and see what you've done. To get them there, you need a unique domain name that connects to your sites servers. Domain name registration is required to ensure that no one else in the world can claim ownership of your web site's address and to make finding your website simple. Find your one of a kind domain name.

Lagging load times are a drag for your visitors. With SSDs, your website, caching, and database queries are faster — 200 percent faster than old school HDDs (no spinning rust here, as we like to say). Electronic storage at lightning-fast speeds means neither you or your visitors get caught up in the waiting game. Beneath the tech jargon is this: we keep things running fast. Like an Olympic-runner-crossed-with-a- cheetah fast.


Do you have a bigger website that you are looking to find a web hosting solution for? If so, dedicated server hosting might be the ideal choice for you. Giving the user access to an entire server all to themselves, this is a web hosting option most often chosen by much larger websites that store a lot of information and generate a much higher amount of traffic. Websites like real estate directories, large e-commerce sites, and more, might make user of a dedicated server hosting plan to get their website running and give their users the smoothest experience from their high-performance website.
If you register a domain with Bluehost when signing up for a hosting account, there is a domain fee that is non-refundable. This not only covers our costs, but ensures that you won't lose your domain name. Regardless of the status of your hosting service, you'll be free to manage it, transfer it after any required lock periods, or simply point it elsewhere at your convenience. You retain ownership of your domain until the end of its registration period unless you elect to extend it.

I want to ask I’m a student and we will have an assignment in our school for next half year it’s my last year and this is project will decide my mark (grade). I want to make a blog and I don’t need any top-noch hosting for this. The site is potential going to be shut down after this project. So my question is do you recommend any of the hostings above.


Many web hosting services offer a low "starting price," but require you to prepay for two or three years of service to get that price. After the promotional period, the renewal price for some web hosting services can be two, three, or even four times the initial promotional pricing. While the initial deal might be incredible, the cost of transferring your site (or paying the added fee) in a couple of years may be something to consider.

When you need help, you can expect the best from us. For five years in a row, GoDaddy has won a Stevie Award for Customer Service. The international awards competition is based on Customer Net Promoter Scores (NPS), which consistently rank our customer care among the best on earth. In addition to phone support, we also offer an exhaustive collection of help articles on every conceivable topic.
When you build a website, you want visitors to come and see what you've done. To get them there, you need a unique domain name that connects to your sites servers. Domain name registration is required to ensure that no one else in the world can claim ownership of your web site's address and to make finding your website simple. Find your one of a kind domain name.
Domain names are created to make IP addresses easy to remember. Every computer has an IP address assigned to it - much like a street address. But instead of having to memorize each IP address number, we assign domain names to these numbers so we can easily remember them. The domain name system, or DNS, takes domain names and translates them into their IP addresses so that computers can communicate with one another.

Amazon Web Services Abiquo Enterprise Edition CloudStack Citrix Cloud CtrlS DigitalOcean EMC Atmos Eucalyptus Fujitsu GoGrid Google Cloud Platform GreenButton GreenQloud IBM Cloud iland Joyent Lunacloud Microsoft Azure Mirantis Nimbula Nimbus OpenIO OpenNebula OpenStack Oracle Cloud OrionVM Rackspace Cloud Safe Swiss Cloud SoftLayer Zadara Storage libvirt libguestfs OVirt Virtual Machine Manager Wakame-vdc Virtual Private Cloud OnDemand
* NTT America endeavors to make the domain name availability search process reliable; however, NTT America does not guarantee availability of domain names or the accuracy or security of the WHOIS system. There are several factors that could cause a WHOIS.NET query to incorrectly display that a currently registered domain is available. Regardless, if a domain name is already registered, WHOIS.NET will not be able to register the domain or gain possession of the registration from the current registrar without the permission of the current owner. The registration process is not complete until the domain name requested by you has been registered in your name with the appropriate registry. Because there are delays in the actual registration of a domain name with the appropriate registry, NTT America is not responsible if domain names requested by you are actually registered to third parties. Registration of the domain name through NTT America is not complete until you receive the final confirmation e-mail from NTT America. All registrations through NTT America are subject to NTT America's Global Terms and Conditions.
PCMag, PCMag.com and PC Magazine are among the federally registered trademarks of Ziff Davis, LLC and may not be used by third parties without explicit permission. The display of third-party trademarks and trade names on this site does not necessarily indicate any affiliation or the endorsement of PCMag. If you click an affiliate link and buy a product or service, we may be paid a fee by that merchant.
Well, you went over speed and pricing but what about security. Who has the best overall when security is figured in. I ask because one of the ones you have listed I am on and they didn’t catch the websites being hacked I have 17 websites with code in them, they didn’t catch. It looks like bitcoin mining to me. See I keep asking why my website was loading so slow and they keep saying it was because they were not optimized right. Now the same sites were loading in 1.6 seconds to 1.8. Now they were taking 6.5 to 8 and even 9 seconds to load. THey cost me a great deal of time and money over this and even my backups are junk. I add this also they never found the problem till I personally found the problem and pointed it out. Needless to say, I am done with them…
What sets the company apart is its first-year hosting price of less than a buck a month. The company's least expensive plan is a startlingly low 80 cents a month. This is the least expensive hosting program we've seen, although the price does go up after that first year. In fact, most of the company's plans increase after its promotional price expires. 

Buying a cheap domain name does not limit your ability to be successful online. In fact, the hundreds of new domain extensions now available provides you with more opportunities to create a strong online presence. Choosing the right cheap domain can be a way to communicate your website’s purpose and your creativity, innovation, and even customer service to online visitors. A book club, for example, could use a .club domain name to bring members together online. Online stores might want to look into .shop, while IT firms should consider .tech domains. In short, there are NUMEROUS possibilities, and the smart selection of a cheap domain name can lead to creative marketing opportunities and strong user engagement.
This promotional offer will let you enjoy a $1.50/month off the price of your VPS SSD2, VPS SSD3, VPS CLOUD 1, VPS CLOUD 2, VPS CLOUD 3, VPS CLOUD RAM 1, VPS CLOUD RAM 2, VPS CLOUD RAM 3 (VPS SSD Discover offers not included), with a twelve-month (12) commitment to the OVH VPS offer on any order placed between 12/31/2019 at 9:00 a.m. and 01/20/2020 at 9:00 a.m. (EST). The time that OVH registers the order will stand in the event of a dispute. On the renewal date, the VPS can be renewed for the price indicated, at the following site: www.ovh.com/ca/en. Subscription is subject to prior acceptance of OVH Terms and Conditions.
One of the oldest web hosts started in 1996, Bluehost has become the largest brand name when it comes to WordPress hosting. They are an official 'WordPress' recommended hosting provider. With Bluehost, you never have to worry about your website being slow even when there is a lot of traffic. Their 24/7 expert support is always there to help when you need it by phone, email, or live chat. They are rated #1 in web hosting for small businesses. On top of that, they are offering WPBeginner users an exclusive 63% off discount, a Free Domain, Free SSL, and a free Site Builder with templates.
Believe it or not, the physical location of the server influences the load times of your website. The closer the server is geographically to the users trying to access your website, the more quickly they’ll be able to use it. However, if the closest server to you or the users you expect to be trying to access your website is a significantly underpowered one, it’s best to find the closest one to you that has a reasonable amount of resources and reliability.
Amazon Web Services Abiquo Enterprise Edition CloudStack Citrix Cloud CtrlS DigitalOcean EMC Atmos Eucalyptus Fujitsu GoGrid Google Cloud Platform GreenButton GreenQloud IBM Cloud iland Joyent Lunacloud Microsoft Azure Mirantis Nimbula Nimbus OpenIO OpenNebula OpenStack Oracle Cloud OrionVM Rackspace Cloud Safe Swiss Cloud SoftLayer Zadara Storage libvirt libguestfs OVirt Virtual Machine Manager Wakame-vdc Virtual Private Cloud OnDemand
We use this analogy on our web hosting page. Shared hosting is like an apartment building – lots of residents in the same building, sharing the same resources, but also very affordable. Dedicated servers are like having your state-of-the-art house, where you’ll pay a lot more, but you also don’t have to share the space or utilities with anyone. VPS is in the middle, like a townhouse, where you have a few residents in the same building, but you each have dedicated resources and are in full control of your home. It costs less than a dedicated server, but still gives you much of the same benefits.
What makes it so popular? WordPress is adaptable and accessible, allowing users to easily create and manage websites, blogs, and storefronts of all sizes. Designed as open-source software, WordPress is maintained by a large community of volunteer programmers and designers (who use the platform themselves). Thanks to this vibrant community, the platform is always growing and adding new features and convenient functionality.
DreamHost stands out from the crowd. We're one of the last independently-owned and operated web hosts in the business. We've grown from dorm-room beginnings in 1997 to helping more than 400,000 customers in over 100 countries. We proudly host over 1.5 million websites, WordPress blogs, and applications for designers, developers, small businesses, and more from our data centers in Ashburn, Virginia, and Hillsboro, Oregon. 

It’s open-source software. This means the platform isn’t restricted under copyright or trademark and is freely available for anyone to download and modify (under what is called the GNU General Public License). Because WordPress runs on an open-source creed, it’s developed and maintained by a dedicated community of volunteers. This diverse village of contributors and enthusiasts design with user-friendliness and the most needful features in mind, and they even meet up around the globe to collaborate and learn together. Consider it a super-tight club — minus the exclusivity and secret handshakes.

Users of Shared hosting all share the resources on the server their websites are on. There is no guarantee of RAM or CPU with Shared hosting. Shared hosting also does not provide full root access to the server, as opposed to VPS package where users are given full root access to perform commands and make configuration changes to their hosting environment.
The WordPress user demographics vary wildly from a first-time site owner to an enterprise-grade business owner. The former end of the spectrum will probably opt for shared WordPress hosting, while the enterprise folks may need dedicated resources to support their organization’s WordPress site. Here, we compare factors that make for the best hosting for shared, virtual, and dedicated servers using WordPress. 

As a digital agency, we get a LOT of web hosting related questions. People want to know which web host is best for their specific goals (could be a normal business site, or photographer, small blogger, etc.), or where to find a decent comparison that reviews the best web hosting providers for Canada. The majority have problems identifying which web hosts are actually worth the money, provide the most bang for their buck. So to save ourselves some time answering these questions time and time again, we decided to put a good chunk of time into creating a resource that provides many of the answers people are looking for… and so this guide was born! 

Teaming up with Little, the duo worked on the structure of b2, creating a fork that would become the first version of WordPress in 2003. The modern software, built on PHP and MySQL, and licensed under the GPL, began focusing on web standards and user experience, making it a one-of-a-kind tool for creating websites — and setting a standard for site management.
That said, not all web hosts offer email. WP Engine, for example, does not. In such instances, you must email accounts from a company other than your web host. GoDaddy, for instance, sells email packages starting at $3.49 per user, per month. That might sound like a hassle, and just one more thing to keep track of, but there are actually some webmasters who feel that separating your email hosting and web hosting services is smart. That way, one provider going offline won't completely bork your business.

Users are guaranteed the resources on their VPS web hosting account. This means that your account will always be allocated the set amount of RAM, CPU, and Disk Space you've chosen regardless of what other users on the server are doing. This allows for greater stability and performance of your website. You also do not share the Operating System with any other users, providing better security for your website files.


Established back in 1998, HostPapa operates three state-of-the-art data centers. Equipped with multiple GigE fiber connections to the internet backbone, the company built out seismically braced racks and cabinets, fully redundant Liebert HVAC cooling systems, a diesel generator that can run for weeks and a preaction dry pipe fire suppression system.
* NTT America endeavors to make the domain name availability search process reliable; however, NTT America does not guarantee availability of domain names or the accuracy or security of the WHOIS system. There are several factors that could cause a WHOIS.NET query to incorrectly display that a currently registered domain is available. Regardless, if a domain name is already registered, WHOIS.NET will not be able to register the domain or gain possession of the registration from the current registrar without the permission of the current owner. The registration process is not complete until the domain name requested by you has been registered in your name with the appropriate registry. Because there are delays in the actual registration of a domain name with the appropriate registry, NTT America is not responsible if domain names requested by you are actually registered to third parties. Registration of the domain name through NTT America is not complete until you receive the final confirmation e-mail from NTT America. All registrations through NTT America are subject to NTT America's Global Terms and Conditions.
A VPS runs its own copy of an operating system (OS), and customers may have superuser-level access to that operating system instance, so they can install almost any software that runs on that OS. For many purposes they are functionally equivalent to a dedicated physical server, and being software-defined, are able to be much more easily created and configured. They are priced much lower than an equivalent physical server. However, as they share the underlying physical hardware with other VPSes, performance may be lower, depending on the workload of any other executing virtual machines.[1]
When you need help, you can expect the best from us. For five years in a row, GoDaddy has won a Stevie Award for Customer Service. The international awards competition is based on Customer Net Promoter Scores (NPS), which consistently rank our customer care among the best on earth. In addition to phone support, we also offer an exhaustive collection of help articles on every conceivable topic.
Established back in 1998, HostPapa operates three state-of-the-art data centers. Equipped with multiple GigE fiber connections to the internet backbone, the company built out seismically braced racks and cabinets, fully redundant Liebert HVAC cooling systems, a diesel generator that can run for weeks and a preaction dry pipe fire suppression system.

The best web hosts on the market include these web builders in their service offerings. Some include popular existing site builders like Weebly, while other hosting teams have engineered their own platforms for website design and development. For example, 1&1 has 1&1 MyWebsite, and InMotion’s BoldGrid sits atop WordPress for a more intuitive experience, whether you’re building your first site or your fourteenth.
When it comes to resources, the company stated that they supply more than enough CPU and RAM to please the “average” web hosting customer. A high level of performance is seen by customers since they avoid overselling any single’s services. Free Cloudflare CDN, LiteSpeed or MariaDB servers, and other caching features are not advertised in their website.
This hosting type gives you access to a Virtual Private Server. VPS hosting has a lot in common with shared hosting but comes with fewer limitations and more freedom when it comes to their server space. The perfect middle point between the cheap shared hosting, and expensive dedicated server hosting, VPS hosting gives you a portion of a server space separated from the rest of the server space that other users will be using, so you can use your server space unaffected by other users’ websites. An affordable web hosting solution that gives more flexibility than shared hosting, VPS hosting is a popular option for web hosting in Canada.
WordPress.org references the open-source (free) software that can be downloaded and installed pretty easily, particularly if you have a web host that makes this process a breeze. Self-hosted WordPress allows you to capitalize on the robust offerings of the established content management system, plus the potential for more features, such as a free domain, unlimited email accounts, marketing credits, and expert support).
When it comes to web hosting in Canada, there are a lot of web hosting types you can choose from before you can get your website up and running. However, that is unfortunately not the last tough decision you are going to have to make. After you’ve determined the web hosting type that fits your needs, you’ll need to start comparing specific features. Btw we’ve also done this research for Australian web hosting providers, New Zealand web hosting, web hosting in Singapore, UK web hosting, cheap web hosting India, web hosting United States, & even web hosting Ireland.
Regardless of if your site is at tee-ball or big-league levels, WordPress has major scalability power, meaning: it meets you where you are. For beginners, there’s ease of use, affordability, and simple functionality. As you learn more about the platform and acquire new technical know-how and skills, you can do even more with WordPress. From simple blogs to complex websites, from basic content to high-traffic e-commerce stores, WordPress grows with you.
Welcome to the CNET 2020 directory of web hosting services. In this directory, we'll look at a few of the best web hosting providers like Bluehost, A2Hosting, Hostinger, DreamHost, HostGator, InMotion Hosting and more. In this evaluation of the best web hosting providers, we're featuring commercial web hosting companies that offer WordPress, VPS, shared hosting and many more web hosting services, along with a variety of annual and monthly plans.     
A great domain name is a concise, easy to type, and memorable URL that reflects your brand or your website’s subject matter. Avoid using hyphens, strings of numbers, or unnecessary words to make it easy for your visitors to remember and find your website. Remember: A great domain name is one that your visitors can type correctly on their first try.
They have shared hosting plans, reseller plans, and WordPress hosting plans. Their support is available 24/7/365 and very responsive. What we really liked about GreenGeeks is the default list of free features you get with every hosting plan. Everything from a free domain name, free SSL, free website migration, free CDN integration, to super fast SSD storage, and an impressive security system to keep everything running smooth!
Users are guaranteed the resources on their VPS web hosting account. This means that your account will always be allocated the set amount of RAM, CPU, and Disk Space you've chosen regardless of what other users on the server are doing. This allows for greater stability and performance of your website. You also do not share the Operating System with any other users, providing better security for your website files.
Resources, resources, resources. When building and maintaining your website, you’re going to have some questions. Luckily, it’s easy to find help when you need it. With WordPress, you have access to an ever-growing wealth of materials like online documentation, forums, WordPress-focused blogs, dedicated courses and resources, and more designed to help you. Strength (and knowledge) in numbers.
Moving to another website consists of transferring the website’s files and databases, configuring your site with the new host, and directing your domain’s DNS to the new host. Once you pick a new site host, they can usually help you out with this process. The cost will depend on the host you’re switching to, but it can range anywhere from $150-$400. 

They have shared hosting plans, reseller plans, and WordPress hosting plans. Their support is available 24/7/365 and very responsive. What we really liked about GreenGeeks is the default list of free features you get with every hosting plan. Everything from a free domain name, free SSL, free website migration, free CDN integration, to super fast SSD storage, and an impressive security system to keep everything running smooth!


I didn't think I'd be able to do all of this web site stuff myself, but I wanted to try to save our small business some money. Tommie walked me through the process, educating us on the right products for our business and putting up with my endless questions. He made me feel like he cared about our business and seemed excited about bringing us into the 21st century. :-) He also has quite the singing voice. I now have his version of Adele's "Hello" and Journey's "Don't Stop Believing" in my head. While I'm not overly grateful for those memories, I am grateful for his patience and expertise. Thanks, Tommie!
What makes it so popular? WordPress is adaptable and accessible, allowing users to easily create and manage websites, blogs, and storefronts of all sizes. Designed as open-source software, WordPress is maintained by a large community of volunteer programmers and designers (who use the platform themselves). Thanks to this vibrant community, the platform is always growing and adding new features and convenient functionality.

A virtual private server (VPS) is created through the process of virtualization, by which a virtual replica of a physical server is created. A VPS is like having access to your own personal server with an allocated number of resources and choice of a pre-installed operating system. It is an isolated microsystem based on a shared server. Since a VPS is self contained, you have full control of your server setup and are responsible for all updates and security. You can also choose to opt for our managed service.


Looking for data centers in Canada to cater to the country’s audience? Cirrus Hosting employs 3 data centers in Toronto area. Although they have data centers in Canada, they do not employ a lot of features for increased website speed. PHP 7 is supported which means faster loading speeds for your website compared to PHP 5.6. Cloudflare CDN, LiteSpeed servers, and other caching features are not included in their shared hosting packages.
Now you know that a good domain does not have to cost a fortune. Both great website traffic and name recognition are possible when you purchase a cheap domain name and build a quality website. And GoDaddy is here to help you do just that. We offer the largest selection of domain names on the web, so you can pick a domain that is memorable and specific to you. We make domain setup quick and easy and provide you with the option to add services like Business Protection. Want to purchase more than one cheap domain? Then consider our bulk registration to quickly register numerous domain variations at once.
The first thing that caught our eye about Complete Internet Hosting was a great answer to my biggest complaint about hosting providers. Most hosting providers will suck you in with a relatively aggressive starting price, but when it comes time to renew, the renewal price can be two or three times the original price. I've even found one company that renews at more than six times the original price.
Ultimately, it is used to decrease hardware costs by condensing a failover cluster to a single machine. Thus decreasing costs dramatically while providing the same services. Server roles and features are generally designed to operate in isolation. For example, Windows Server 2019 requires a certificate authority and a domain controller to exist on independent servers with independent instances of windows server. This is because additional roles and features adds areas of potential failure as well as adding visible security risks (placing a certificate authority on a domain controller poses the potential for root access to the root certificate). This directly motivates demand for virtual private servers in order to retain conflicting server roles and features on a single hosting machine. Also, the advent of virtual machine encrypted networks decreases pass-through risks that might have otherwise discouraged VPS usage as a legitimate hosting server.

Users are guaranteed the resources on their VPS server for their web hosting accounts. This means that your account will always be allocated the set amount of RAM, CPU, and disk space you've chosen regardless of what other users on the server are doing. This allows for greater stability and performance of your website, applications, and email. You also do not share the operating system with any other users, providing better security for your website files.
Many web hosts offer limited features in their starter packages and then expand the offerings (sometimes tremendously) for higher-tier plans. Read the small print to make sure the plan you are selecting offers what you need. If you need a site builder application to design your website, make sure that the low-cost web host you are picking actually comes with a site builder. Many of them require you to pay for the builder as a separate add-on. Website builders usually don't cost a lot of money, but if you can find a web host that includes one for free, that's money in your pocket. And, if it's integrated with your hosting service, you're more likely to have a smooth, supported experience.
Bluehost is another EIG owned web host. They definitely went through a rough patch for a few years, but they seem to be working hard on cleaning up their image and hosting products. Overall, they’re pretty reliable and definitely have the experience behind them to prove to the world they’re a force to be reckoned with. They host a LOT of sites, we’ll need to re-evaluate them soon to see if we can bump them up our list.
Various options for support are provided by Site5 Hosting. These include Knowledge Base, Q&A Platform, Email Support, and Live Chat. The downside to this is they don’t have telephone support. Email support and online live chat are available 24/7 though. Sadly, most of their customer support reviews were negative. It only takes a few minutes to get to a representative but it takes about 5 to 10 minutes for them to respond to questions. Some even stated that multiple support sessions were necessary just to solve a simple problem.
As a digital agency, we get a LOT of web hosting related questions. People want to know which web host is best for their specific goals (could be a normal business site, or photographer, small blogger, etc.), or where to find a decent comparison that reviews the best web hosting providers for Canada. The majority have problems identifying which web hosts are actually worth the money, provide the most bang for their buck. So to save ourselves some time answering these questions time and time again, we decided to put a good chunk of time into creating a resource that provides many of the answers people are looking for… and so this guide was born!
At IONOS, we always strive to offer our products at competitive price levels - for all customers. However, due to the sheer size of our product portfolio, we cannot guarantee to have the best price available for all products, all the time. Instead, we focus on a selected range of domain extensions which are frequently sought after by our customers, such as a .com, and provide those domain names to you using a very aggressive price point.
In our detailed DreamHost review, we also evaluated their customer support, features, and pricing. After our analysis, we find DreamHost to be a great option for businesses who value privacy. They offer free domain privacy with each of their domains. They also recently fought the U.S. department of Justice to protect the privacy of one of their customer’s website.
As mentioned above, they have a speedy server in Canada, but if you need to target other countries, Cloudflare CDN is provided for free on all plans. This means your website data is stored as cache on various locations around the world ensuring fast website speeds for visitors far away from your primary data center. Enhanced solid state drives are also given ensuring faster website loading speeds compared to traditional disk drives.
Their cheapest WordPress hosting plan starts from $0.80/month with a 48-month commitment and renews at $2.15/month. This plan includes 100GB bandwidth and 10GB storage which is optimal for a smaller WordPress website. Furthermore, 1 email account is included in all of their plans as well as a free SSL certificate. Additional CDN is not included. And if you’re not satisfied with their service, you can get a full refund until 30 days from the signup.

This hosting type gives you access to a Virtual Private Server. VPS hosting has a lot in common with shared hosting but comes with fewer limitations and more freedom when it comes to their server space. The perfect middle point between the cheap shared hosting, and expensive dedicated server hosting, VPS hosting gives you a portion of a server space separated from the rest of the server space that other users will be using, so you can use your server space unaffected by other users’ websites. An affordable web hosting solution that gives more flexibility than shared hosting, VPS hosting is a popular option for web hosting in Canada.
Managed VPS hosting means that we will handle just about anything to do with your server: nuts, bolts, wires, drives, connectivity, racking, storage, security, and so on. All you have to manage is your own container, which you can do using the provided control panel software or through root access. You can install, manage, and operate software / scripts of your choice. Customers who acquire either managed or fully managed service for VPS hosting will receive cPanel/WHM licenses. Installation of non-cPanel supported applications will not be supported by our customer service.
You don’t have to brave the website wilderness alone. We’ve got an expert in-house squad standing by to tackle your toughest WordPress questions and optimize your site experience. Whether you get in touch with our support, read our knowledge base, or start a thread in our community forum, getting answers is easy. Plus, our world-class Technical Support and Operations teams will keep your server running and up-to-date with security patches, OS updates, and more.
At IONOS, we always strive to offer our products at competitive price levels - for all customers. However, due to the sheer size of our product portfolio, we cannot guarantee to have the best price available for all products, all the time. Instead, we focus on a selected range of domain extensions which are frequently sought after by our customers, such as a .com, and provide those domain names to you using a very aggressive price point.
As mentioned above, they have a speedy server in Canada, but if you need to target other countries, Cloudflare CDN is provided for free on all plans. This means your website data is stored as cache on various locations around the world ensuring fast website speeds for visitors far away from your primary data center. Enhanced solid state drives are also given ensuring faster website loading speeds compared to traditional disk drives.
Bluehost (established in 1996) is the most reliable beginner-friendly web hosting out there. The cheapest plan starts from just $2.75/mo (if you pay for 36-month in advance), renewals start at $7.99/mo. With the basic plan, you can host 1 website. The plan includes a free domain for 1 year, 50GB SSD storage, unmetered bandwidth, free SSL and 24/7 live chat support.
HostGator gained points for uptime monitoring and regular backups, along with free cPanel or Plesk. We liked that SSH is available for the more technically inclined site operators and that dedicated IP addresses could be purchased. We did take points off because it's sometimes difficult to tell what the price is once promotional plans run their course. That said, with a generous 45-day money back guarantee, there's a hosting solution for almost everyone at HostGator.

We're often asked whether a virtual private server is faster than shared hosting options. Unfortunately, it's impossible to provide a general answer. There are powerful hosting plans with faster computing resources than that of a VPS. The difference, however, lies in the fact that our VPS services offer guaranteed resources (computing power), whereas shared hosting products are influenced by the number of resources available to other customers and ultimately only represent theoretical values.
Bluehost, our top-rated web host offers a free domain name with your hosting account for the first year. If you're just getting started with a new website and in need of a hosting account, you can't go wrong with that option. If you don't get your domain name included with your hosting plan, then you'll need to get a separate hosting account from a separate company.

They have hosting plans for the usual shared hosting (which is what most people need), WordPress hosting for a more managed solution, VPS, and dedicated servers. Their founders have been in the industry since 1998, so they know the hosting game pretty well, and it shows! Their servers use SSD drives, MariaDB for MySQL performance, and LiteSpeed with LSCache which really maximises performance for WordPress installations.
At IONOS, we always strive to offer our products at competitive price levels - for all customers. However, due to the sheer size of our product portfolio, we cannot guarantee to have the best price available for all products, all the time. Instead, we focus on a selected range of domain extensions which are frequently sought after by our customers, such as a .com, and provide those domain names to you using a very aggressive price point.

We don’t limit the amount of visitor traffic a website can receive or the amount of content you can upload to your website so long as you comply with our Terms of Service. If your website demands resources that present a risk to the stability, performance, or uptime of our servers, we will notify you to take corrective action and may restrict the resources or ask you to choose a plan more suitable to your needs.


If you've ever been worried about the tremendous amount of power large data centers consume, you might want to sign up with Green Geeks. The "green" in the company's name reflects the Green Geeks' commitment to the environment. It purchases three times the energy it actually uses in wind energy credits, essentially putting energy back into the economy. The company does this through a form of renewable energy certificates, which, while a bit complicated, means that it's not just energy neutral, i's actually helping fuel the green energy economy.


Aptly named the “Best Host to Grow With,” HostGator is one of the most well-known and well-respected web hosts in the industry. Their plans include user-friendly Weebly site builder, no contract commitment, and unlimited storage, emails, and site traffic. Start with shared hosting and grow your business to dedicated-server scale, and the HostGator team will be there to help you grow every step of the way.
Hey Caroline, WordPress.com is a bit of a different animal because you don’t run a self-hosted WordPress site on there. That means, you can’t install all the plugins you might want to (especially on lower plans, where you can’t install plugins at all) and overall have less control over your site than with a self-hosted site. That’s why we didn’t include it in this list. For more information, I recommend this article: https://websitesetup.org/wordpress-com-vs-wordpress-org/
* Comparison made on November 4, 2019 with GoDaddy's Enhance Plan and the VPS L package from IONOS using monthly list prices and features included with plans/packages for both products. Comparison is provided for information purposes only. The GoDaddy name is property of GoDaddy Inc. and is being used only for the express purposes of this comparison. The IONOS mark is a trademark of 1&1 IONOS SE. All rights reserved.

It shouldn't come as any surprise that, like other web host providers, A2 Hosting's unlimited plans aren't actually unlimited. It expect you to use its service like "similarly situated customers." This is like being on a highway. If everyone is going a few miles above the speed limit, you're probably okay, but if you're barreling down the fast lane past everyone else, you're probably going to be asked to slow down.
For our fully managed VPS server we include an easy to use custom cPanel Control Panel that offers many administrative tools but basic knowledge of file transfer and application management are beneficial. Our semi-managed offering does not include the control panel and will require a more in depth technical expertise to keep your website running smoothly.
Hey Caroline, WordPress.com is a bit of a different animal because you don’t run a self-hosted WordPress site on there. That means, you can’t install all the plugins you might want to (especially on lower plans, where you can’t install plugins at all) and overall have less control over your site than with a self-hosted site. That’s why we didn’t include it in this list. For more information, I recommend this article: https://websitesetup.org/wordpress-com-vs-wordpress-org/
Amazon Web Services Abiquo Enterprise Edition CloudStack Citrix Cloud CtrlS DigitalOcean EMC Atmos Eucalyptus Fujitsu GoGrid Google Cloud Platform GreenButton GreenQloud IBM Cloud iland Joyent Lunacloud Microsoft Azure Mirantis Nimbula Nimbus OpenIO OpenNebula OpenStack Oracle Cloud OrionVM Rackspace Cloud Safe Swiss Cloud SoftLayer Zadara Storage libvirt libguestfs OVirt Virtual Machine Manager Wakame-vdc Virtual Private Cloud OnDemand
Believe it or not, the physical location of the server influences the load times of your website. The closer the server is geographically to the users trying to access your website, the more quickly they’ll be able to use it. However, if the closest server to you or the users you expect to be trying to access your website is a significantly underpowered one, it’s best to find the closest one to you that has a reasonable amount of resources and reliability.
Domain names are the alphanumeric aliases used to access websites. Without domain names, accessing websites would only be possible by typing their IP addresses in the browser bar (example: 192.168.2.10). Luckily for us, domain names were invented to replace IP addresses and make it a lot easier to browse the web. So for example: 192.168.2.10 could become Google.com, how awesome is that. This means that whatever domain name you buy, the name is actually a mask for the underlying IP address.
The last thing you want is to sign up for a web hosting provider and find out that it is not offering you the storage space that your website requires, this is especially true if you’re aiming to run an e-commerce site. Check out the storage space a provider offers with the plan you are looking at signing up for before you commit to anything, to ensure that it conforms to the needs of your site.

They have Optimized Stacks with Advanced Cache such as Memcached, Carnish, and Redis for expedited responses. Fast hosting speeds for WordPress and Magento is also available because of its Breeze cache and Full Page cache, respectively. Also, they currently have 60 data centers around the world which you can choose from. More importantly, they have a data center in Toronto, Canada allowing you to pinpoint the Canadian target market and give them fast loading speeds.
Their pricing starts from $2.75/mo which allows you to sign up for 36 months. The renewal price (after your initial period) is $7.99/mo. But this is very common in the hosting market, and almost all popular hosting providers are using it. If you opt to choose them, make sure you take their hosting plan for the longest period; this helps you to save some money. If you are not satisfied with their service, they offer a hassle-free 30-day money-back guarantee.

For our fully managed VPS server we include an easy to use custom cPanel Control Panel that offers many administrative tools but basic knowledge of file transfer and application management are beneficial. Our semi-managed offering does not include the control panel and will require a more in depth technical expertise to keep your website running smoothly.


They have Optimized Stacks with Advanced Cache such as Memcached, Carnish, and Redis for expedited responses. Fast hosting speeds for WordPress and Magento is also available because of its Breeze cache and Full Page cache, respectively. Also, they currently have 60 data centers around the world which you can choose from. More importantly, they have a data center in Toronto, Canada allowing you to pinpoint the Canadian target market and give them fast loading speeds.
It provides you with even more options, including root access, access to Apache and PHP.ini (modification of PHP variables), and much more. You can also install an SSL certificate, and all software program types. In short, you get more freedom in terms of administering and configuring your server, without the hassle of managing any physical hardware.
For more than a decade, Jeffrey L. Wilson has penned gadget- and video game-related nerd-copy for a variety of publications, including 1UP, 2D-X, The Cask, Laptop, LifeStyler, Parenting, Sync, Wise Bread, and WWE. He now brings his knowledge and skillset to PCMag as Senior Analyst. When he isn't staring at a monitor (or two) and churning out web hosting, music, utilities, and video game copy, Jeffrey makes comic books, mentors, practices bass and Jeet Kune Do, and appears on the odd podcasts or convention panel. He also collects vinyl and greatly enjoys a craft brew. You can a find Jeffrey online at jeffreylwilson.net, or send him a tweet at @jeffreylwilson
DreamHost has been around for 18 years, and is known for making web hosting easy. You get custom dashboard, 1-click WordPress install, automatic WordPress updates, unlimited space, unlimited bandwidth and free SSDs which makes your site 200% faster. DreamHost powers over 600,000 WordPress blogs and websites. There are no setup fees, and you also get a free domain.
This hosting type gives you access to a Virtual Private Server. VPS hosting has a lot in common with shared hosting but comes with fewer limitations and more freedom when it comes to their server space. The perfect middle point between the cheap shared hosting, and expensive dedicated server hosting, VPS hosting gives you a portion of a server space separated from the rest of the server space that other users will be using, so you can use your server space unaffected by other users’ websites. An affordable web hosting solution that gives more flexibility than shared hosting, VPS hosting is a popular option for web hosting in Canada.
Using the GoDaddy WHOIS domain lookup tool is easy. You can simply enter the domain name whose information you’d like to view into the search field on the WHOIS main page. You can retrieve key data about a domain in this way, including availability, ownership, creation, and expiration details. If you own multiple domains of your own, it can be helpful to download exportable lists from the tool in order to analyze large amounts of domains data. Our guide to prioritizing and valuing domain names can help you navigate how to best use and organize the information you download.
Think of the name you want to register. The answer is typically your company or website name. It is best to keep your domain name short and easy to understand. Say it out loud, and make sure it sounds great. Next, search to see if it is available. If the name you desire is taken with the .com top-level domain, there are hundreds of others available. Finally, add the top choices to your cart and complete the domain registration.
×